In this video, we’ll take a look at the permissions related to Organic Groups Group content types. We’ll skip over the permissions related to content for now, but come back to them in Video 12 - Global OG Group Content Permissions.
Organic Groups Permissions Overview
- Go to “Configuration => Organic Groups => OG permissions overview” (admin/config/group/permissions)
Click “edit” next to “Node - Group”
Edit group (Only give this to trusted members). This permission allows users to see the "Edit" tab on the group homepage and let them modify the settings of a group. It allows users to:
- Edit the group name
- Edit the body
- Change the group visibility (private or public)
- Administer group (Only give this to trusted members). This will allow the user to see the "Group" tab on the group homepage. This permissions allows users to access the page that has the following options:
- Add group members
- Manage the group members
- Modify OG user roles
- Remove members from group
- Modify membership status
- View permissions
- View roles
- Subscribe to group. This permission allows non-members to request membership to a group but approval is required.
- Subscribe to group (no approval required). This will allow non-members to subscribe to a group without the approval of an administrator.
- Unsubscribe from group. This allows group members to unsubscribe themselves from the group.
- Approve and deny subscription. This permission allows the user to approve or deny a membership request by another user.
- Add user. This permission allows the user to add other site users to the group.
- Manage Members. This permission allows the user to alter the member status and roles of users in the group.
- Add roles (Only give this to trusted members). This will allow users to view group roles and if the default group roles are overridden this will also allow users to add new roles.
- Manage permissions (Only give this to trusted members). This permissions will allow users to view the group permissions page and if the default group permissions are overridden this will also allow users to change group roles’ permissions.